Before this area became a residential neighborhood, it was part of a 160-acre farm owned by the George Shepherd family. In the 1920s, the area now known as Swatek Park included a lake, boathouse and small golf course.
The neighborhood was platted and dedicated February 11, 1931, by M.A. and Lottie Swatek who owned this portion of the Cashion Place addition to Oklahoma City. The neighborhood was designated for residential brick, stone or stucco homes only. One good indicator of the historic nature of the neighborhood is that the original dedication required that homes built in Shepherd Neighborhood cost no less than $4,000. Over 300 neighborhood homes were built mostly in the 1930s, but the area was not included in the Oklahoma City limits until shortly after World War II. The homes in the neighborhood are mostly brick Tudor revivals, with a few colonial revival houses as well. The neighborhood is also lucky to have one outstanding home in the modern art deco style. With no thru streets, the neighborhood maintains a calm and quiet atmosphere.
As an official Historic Preservation District within the City of Oklahoma City, Shepherd Historic Neighborhood homes are protected from exterior changes which are inappropriate to the historic character of the neighborhood. Homeowners are required to gain approval from the Historic Preservation Committee of the City Council before beginning work on the exteriors of their homes. As a result, all residents of the neighborhood can rest assure that the charming historic neighborhood we call home will maintain its uniqueness.